top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDelphina Moon

Delphina Moon’s Favorites of The Top 50: Girls

Well, well, well, am I glad to be back! I had an absolutely terrific vacation, but I sure did miss you all, and I certainly missed my usual dose of name writing. I’ve been working to try and get back in a natural rhythm with the warehouse as of summer, so bear with me through that process. Anyway, I’m currently in the midst of a series, one that circles around all things top 50. Now, for the past week and a half or so, I’ve outlined some of the prominent categories, styles, and origins presented in the current top 50 through a handful of names that well demonstrate the diversity among our favorite names. A summary of the top 50, if you will. But today, I’m throwing all of the different aspects of parents’ favorite names out the window. I’m taking you on a tour of the popular names I love. This article idea was suggested by my fantastic reader Amy, and as a result, I’ll also be sharing a boy version of this as well. Thank you, Amy! Now, it’s no secret that I tend to avoid popularity. But hey, that doesn’t mean that I don’t adore some of the names that other people love as well. And I hope you enjoy seeing exactly which names are among my favorites!


Isla- Okay, fair, Isla isn’t exactly bursting with nicknames, which I tend to prioritize. She’s short, potentially ambiguous pronunciation wise, but I’ve gotta say, there’s just something about that beginning syllable. We’ve all heard Lila and Layla and Ella and Isabella and Camila, but the eye- sound is something totally different. Practically, Isla doesn’t check half the boxes I need her to, but her sound is striking, a perfect blend of the classic and familiar and the rare and intriguing. It’s a name that, to me, feels like a morning dip in a cold river surrounded by chilling mountains, and that’s imagery that’s quite interesting. At #44, Isla has by no means gone unnoticed. A brand new entry to the top 1000, shooting to the top of the ranks at #623 her first time placing, it’s no wonder that Isla has climbed into the top 50 in the 12 years since her entry in 2008. But I think she still retains some beautiful novelty and grace, solidifying her spot on this list.


Amelia- This is what happens when you let me watch an Amelia Earhart documentary! The spunky, stubborn, and hardworking personality that was Amelia Earhart has fascinated people for decades, and I gladly will join the fan club. As for the name that carries such a multi-dimensional and heroic namesake on her shoulders, Amelia, I can express equal interest. Amelia is a bit frillier than I tend to enjoy, but the top 50 is riddled with -a endings for a reason: they’re beautiful! Amelia is a name that feels ideal for a young girl, teen, and a national boundary-breaking heroine pilot. Although I would prefer my hypothetical daughter not disappear while flying across the world. A name on the rise, currently sitting at #6, Amelia is also bursting at the seams with viable nicknames, which I very much enjoy. From Mimi to Millie to just plain Amelia, this name seems sure to wear well.


Hazel- There’s something gentle and sweet about Hazel, and it’s that smooth, kind sound that draws me to this name. Of course, John Green's The Fault In Our Stars didn’t hurt. Hazel eyes are of my favorite variety, being that of my mother, and that Haze- sound is so calm and tranquil. A hazy fog descending on a motionless body of water, the silent surface dotted with dead fall leaves comes to my mind. Not only is the autumn imagery incredibly appealing, the crisp Z sound is immediately followed by a gentle -el ending, a soft ending that completes the soft-crisp-soft-crisp sound pattern that Hazel fits perfectly. At the moment, this vintage treasure is at the peak of being unearthed. While she ranked higher in 1907 than she does now, she still manages to get a firm hold on the popularity charts at #31, the highest she’s gotten during her more recent revival.


Eleanor- This was a favorite of mine a long while back. She was feisty but elegant, refined and regal. Of course, I in no way mean to discourage you from adding Eleanor to your shortlist. She still embodies plenty of those qualities for many people. But the name’s special quality, that glimmer of novelty, wore off quickly for me. It just took a couple too many forum posts and articles for the name to not feel special and unique, and though I still mourn the loss of Eleanor’s sparkle for me, I think she’s still among my favorites of the top 50. A fallen favorite, but still stylistically appealing nonetheless, even if that glimmer isn’t there anymore. She’s had a revival as of late, propelling her back up to just surpass her 1920 #25 with her 2020 #22, and she’s still climbing. The nicknames Nelly and Nora still draw me to this name, but I doubt Eleanor will be gracing my shortlist again, sadly.


Mila- The soft sounds and sweet femininity of this little name just makes my heart sing. Pronounced Mee-luh, Mila has a simple, trim look, but a whole lot of lovability stored in those four letters. It’s a name that feels gentle and graceful, the picture of a modern classic. Mila feels both perfect for a child born today while also feeling classically feminine. Sure, Mila might’ve peaked in 2018 at #14. But she’s still kicking at #20 today, and her fall by no means wears her intrigue to me. Mila feels just plain and quaint enough for familiarity, but that first Mee sound is just interesting and unique enough to draw eyes. She’s lacking in length and in nicknames to me, so there’s no way she’d ever worm her way into one of my lists, but there is something captivating about her simple beauty that I do admire and appreciate.


Grace- A virtue name that exudes faith, peace, and, of course, elegance, Grace just seems to ooze a collection of many positive qualities that parents often want their children to bear. As one of the middle names of my dear hedgehog Daphne Grace Endellion, I find it a lovely name that has a cold edge with the Gray- sound at the beginning that is resolved with a wonderfully simple -ss sound at the end. Not overly frilly or long, Grace feels simple in a very lovely way, a tailored choice that I have an appreciation for. Nicknames don’t abound, but Gray, Ace, or Gracie make nice short forms for this brief moniker. Grace is on her way down at the moment, peaking in 2004 and falling ever since, but the name feels too classic to me to take on a dated feel now that Grace has plummeted to #28 as of 2020.


Charlotte- Another old favorite, this one was introduced to me by Charlotte Johanssen of the Babysitter’s Club book series when I was (substantially) younger. It’s such a beautiful classic name, and even though it’s gotten heaps of buzz lately in the wake of the birth of Princess Charlotte, William and Kate’s daughter, I wouldn’t count it out as a timeless name. With the bouncy and cheerful short forms Charlie and Lottie, Charlotte feels just current enough to wear well on a modern teen, toddler, or baby, while also retaining an elegant essence about her that makes the name seem regal and formal as well. It’s a beautiful blend, and an exquisitely pretty name for a little girl, one that I highly recommend. She’s reached all new heights as of this year, hitting #4, the highest we’ve ever seen in the history of data collection.


That’s it for today! Another well-earned bout of thanks to Amy for her wonderful suggestion, and to all of you for supporting me. Make sure to hit the love button if you, well, loved it, and come back if you want to see my take on the boys version of this same list. Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed, and have a wonderful rest of your day, dear friends!


Sincerely,


-Delphina Moon


77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page